REVIEWS AND PRESS

//REVIEWS AND PRESS
REVIEWS AND PRESS 2017-02-01T09:23:36+00:00

Reviews from Customers and the Press

We are always delighted to hear what you have to say about us. Here are some recent comments taken from TripAdvisor -and you can read more by visiting our TripAdvisor page.

tripadvisor2

“Just Wow!”

Reviewed December 2015

“An amazing dining experience – everything was perfect using quality local produce cooked to perfection. We couldn’t fault anything. The staff were very busy but on top of service  and friendly.”

“Sooo good!”

Reviewed November 2015

“We ate here twice in the space of less than a week because it was so, so good. It’s great when you can walk into a place and it feels warm and friendly rather than hearing the dreaded air conditioning units blasting cold air. The staff were friendly and efficient without constantly interrupting our meal or hassling us to pour the wine. More important, was the quality and choice of the food – we couldn’t believe the special menu. At £22.00 for three courses it was beautifully presented, seasoned well and had something for everyone. The relaxed ambiance just adds to this fabulous restaurant.”

“Russell’s is a great place to stay”

Reviewed October 2015

“We were upgraded to the attic bedroom (Room 4) which is huge, charming and very comfortable. The restaurant menu is imaginative and delicious. Just around the corner you’ll find Russell’s Fish and Chip shop which is also top notch. Do you know another chippie that serves wine and where you can enjoy a shared starter of scampi whitebait and calamari?”

“Happy anniversary!”

Reviewed September 2015

“My husband and I have just returned from a romantic few nights at Russell’s and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The visit was for our wedding anniversary and they upgraded us to a suite which was amazing and we were welcomed with a lovely ‘Happy Anniversary’ We chose to eat in the restaurant for the first night of our stay and it did not disappoint. I would definitely recommend this hotel for location, price and also the staff are so friendly.”

“Compliments to the chef”

Reviewed August 2015

“We stayed for lunch and, without a doubt, it was one of the best meals I have ever had. The menu is seasonal and fresh and there is clearly a very talented chef in the kitchen. The staff were incredibly friendly, attentive and entertaining. It’s a perfect venue for a date with an intimate cosy atmosphere.”

“Sweet dreams”

Reviewed July 2015

“A few words about the rooms. The one I was staying in was very nice and cosy with a large bathroom and pleasant shampoos and lotions. The furniture is nice and the bed is comfortable.”

“Head for the hills”

Reviewed June 2015

“Great food, lovely room – the perfect night away. The staff were really helpful and we felt well looked after. The location is just right for that afternoon walk and potter round the shops and morning run up to Broadway Tower.”

“Staff-tastic!”

Reviewed May 2015

“A mention for the staff. In a smaller establishment you can really see how hard it can be to work in the hotel industry but they were, without exception, friendly, smiling, attentive and very good humoured.”

“We’ve found a gem”

Reviewed April 2015

“Having visited the Cotswolds many times during the past 30 years or so, on this occasion my wife and I found this gem – Russell’s. We stayed three nights in Room 2 which was very comfortable and well-equipped with excellent en-suite facilities. The breakfast choices could not be bettered and we were served by friendly staff. Dinner is a must – the quality and presentation was five star – again served by very friendly staff, under the watchful eye of the owner, Andrew Riley. He and his team provided a service which in our opinion could not be surpassed.”

“Friendly and helpful”

Reviewed March 2015

“We stayed here for two nights in early March. It is perfectly located on the high street with beautiful rooms. I particularly liked the window seat in our room which overlooked the pretty high street. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and the lady who worked in the breakfast room was very friendly and helpful.”

“Outstanding”

Reviewed February 2015

“Through our work and holidays my wife and I have been fortunate enough to eat in some of the best restaurants all over the world, including Michelin star venues. The whole experience of Russell’s was faultless. Just disappointed that we only chose to dine here on the last night of our four-day break. This place alone will bring us back to Broadway.”

“One of the best meals I have ever had”

Reviewed January 2015

“We dined here with a party of six on Saturday evening and were shown to our private room adjoining the main restaurant. This was suggested by Tom when I made the booking and it couldn’t have been better. The service was friendly, discreet and efficient. The choice of food was excellent and I enjoyed one of the best meals I have ever had in a restaurant.”

“Excellent good value for money in a top-class restaurant.”

Reviewed December 2014

“A pleasant atmosphere, friendly manager and staff as ever. Very well thought-through menus, top class cooking and presentation, very
elaborate. A chef with excellent tastes.”

“Great Food and Service”

Reviewed November 2014

“I must say this is the best dinner that I had for a long time – the scallops, and the John Dory were fantastic, service was attentive and very friendly. Just perfect, I really liked the recommendation from the barman on the black cow vodka. I will return here again very soon.”

“We didn’t want to come home”

Reviewed October 2014

“I booked this as a surprise birthday weekend away for my husband as he absolutely loves the Cotswolds and especially Broadway. It did not disappoint. Room 4 is huge! It has beams, a super-Kingsize bed, a beautiful bathroom with a large shower and a standalone bath plus all the facilities you need. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn’t want to come home. We would certainly recommend this hotel.”

“Excellent hotel with great restaurant”

Reviewed September 2014

“My partner and I stayed at this wonderful luxury hotel for three nights. Our room was amazing. The bathroom was also brilliant as it included a standalone bath tub which my partner absolutely loved. The bed was extremely comfortable.
However, if we thought the room was great, the restaurant attached to the hotel was even better. We had the most wonderful meals. The guinea fowl I ordered was absolutely delicious and well presented as was the chocolate, sorbet and berry dessert. The wine list was excellent and was well represented by major wine regions. The restaurant staff were all professional and exceedingly friendly.
We used this hotel as our base to explore the Cotswolds region and wouldn’t hesitate to return here when we make another visit to this charming part of England.”

“Great Place”

Reviewed August 2014

“My partner and I were lucky enough to stay in this restaurant with rooms. We have to say the entire place is lovely. I had the best night’s sleep I have had for ages. The whole atmosphere is so relaxed. The English breakfast in the morning was delicious. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay.”

“We will return”

Reviewed July 2014

“Russell’s, right in the middle of Broadway, was excellent in every way, from the friendly welcome, the very well and comfortably equipped room to the food that we enjoyed very much. The staff were very attentive – mine host sorted out my iPad – all part of the service! There was just one problem – we only stayed a single night! I’m sure we will return.”

“Service is spot on”

Reviewed June 2014

“Lovely food and I definitely give it a Michelin star! “We’ve been there three or four times and the service is always spot on. We will be visiting again soon with friends from Brighton.”

“Thoroughly enjoyable”

Reviewed May 2014

“We booked for daughter’s 21st and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent with a varied choice and interesting wine list. Our party of six had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and hope to return soon.”

“Delicious Sunday Lunch”

Reviewed April 2014

We had a fabulous Sunday lunch with the family at Russell’s. The food was excellent and the waiting staff were friendly and attentive. We will definitely be returning soon.”

“Professional”

Reviewed April 2014

We ate here three times last week – one lunch in a group and, later in the week, two dinners. The décor, atmosphere and welcome were all very good. Each meal was accurately described on the menu and the range of dishes on offer, while not huge, was perfectly adequate. Every member of our group remarked on the quality of the food. The fact that we returned twice more tells its own story!”

“Fantastic food and great service in a relaxed country contemporary atmosphere.”

Reviewed March 2014

Having just returned from Sunday lunch at Russell’s in Broadway, I wanted to post this review whilst I’m still savouring the taste of a fantastic meal lingering on my palate. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and, though full, they found us a great table in the front of the premises by a window with a sunny outlook onto the main street. The complementary bread and assorted spreads were amazing – getting everything off to a great For my main course I had roast 28-day dry cured beef and my wife had a chicken dish which she highly recommended. For dessert I had banana bread with banana flambé and coffee ice cream and my wife had warm Bakewell tart and vanilla cream. All in all, would I recommend Russell’s, Heck yes, with a cherry on top!

“Luscious lunchtime”

Reviewed February 2014

We were meeting our son and his wife for lunch. We arrived very early but the staff were happy for us to park outside and go for a stroll round the lovely village. When

our family arrived we were shown promptly to our table. The food was really excellent and presentation of all dishes was clever and innovative. The service was very good and friendly and caring. They actually suggested that we didn’t go out in the pouring rain and were happy for us to stay and chat till five o’clock!
 I would happily recommend this establishment and will certainly visit again. It is a must for those who enjoy fine dining.

From time to time we do get featured and reviewed in the Glossy’s – and you can read some articles below.